On The “War” on Christmas

charlie-brown-christmas-tree-wallpaper-wallpapersafari-1.jpg

(I hope you are reading this just out of curiosity and not because you give a what what about this “war”)

I’m writing this as I listen to She & Him Christmas and think about this festive time of year. We have events a-happening, gifts a-giving and food a-eating (I guess that one doesn’t really work).

This morning, I started thinking about ‘Christmas’: what it means, how it sounds, and why we have it.  Wait, scratch all that, what’s most important is obviously that there’s a “war” on it.

I mean, really!  Imagine if Christmas lost this war and our wonderful songs being sung with a “Merry X-Mas” or “Happy Holidays” instead of a “Merry Christmas”. This would just be plain silly. There’s no flow if you sang, “Have yourself a merry little X-Mas.” My favorite Christmas song would sound terrible if it was sung like this, “Although it’s been said many times, many ways, Happy Holidays to you.” This is just ludicrous. I feel like I could stop here and you’d say, “Man that would suck!” But, there’s more!

What about how I’ve greeted and been greeted by family, friends and coworkers in the different places I’ve lived during this holiday?! It’s always been “Merry Christmas”; at least I think it has. Is it just because all of the people who are nearest and dearest to me are sensible people and they don’t care about this “war”? Maybe… but clearly more likely is that many of them are afraid to share their true hatred towards this phrase.  If Christmas lost, I’m sure they’d just stop saying it entirely.

But seriously, in the back of my head I think the media is at war against all of humanity’s joy. What a surprise! No one gives a fudge about this, but the media says that we do, and then some of us end up at “war” about it.

But why even care? Why must we have this “war”? Why even celebrate Christmas? If you don’t like it, make your own holiday and sing your own holiday songs. I can picture a bitter and lonely person, sitting with their dinner for one, singing “We wish you a Happy Holidays, we wish you a Happy Holidays, and a Happy New Year,” while watching A Christmas Story, and sulking because of the joy that people get from “Christmas”.

So, I’m asking, from the bottom of my heart, please don’t ruin this for us. If you care about it, keep it to yourself, or don’t celebrate this “Christian holiday” (I can write a whole other article about this, but to save time and breath I won’t. If you wanna know, just talk to me). Let’s do as the Jackson 5 once sang and “Give love on Christmas day”, there’s enough war out there so stop caring about this meaningless one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

